Rhino releasing Eagles ‘Live at the Forum 76’ on vinyl

Album makes its vinyl debut on Nov 12th

In celebration of the Eagles returning to their acclaimed Hotel California 2021 Tour, Rhino is set to release Live at the Forum ’76, featuring 10 songs recorded in the fall of 1976, just prior to the release of Hotel California. The set will be available on November 12th as a 2 LP set on 180-gram vinyl. The tracks will be making their vinyl debut, as they were previously only available on CD and digitally as part of 2017’s Hotel California: 40th Anniversary Edition. The live music takes up three LP sides while the final one features an exclusive etching of the artwork.

The set was recorded during the band’s three-night run at the Los Angeles Forum in October 1976. The show took place as the group was putting the finishing touches on Hotel California, which would be released that December. The concert recording captures some of the very first live performances of “Hotel California” and “New Kid In Town.”

During the show, the band also play hits from earlier albums with “Take It Easy” from the band’s 1972 self-titled debut; “Already Gone” from 1974’s On the Border; and the No. 1 title track from 1975’s One of These Nights. The concert also includes a raucous performance of “Funk #49,” a song originally recorded by Walsh’s James Gang.

The Forum concert presents a snapshot of the band right before Hotel California became a critical and commercial phenomenon. After its release, the album topped the charts for eight weeks in the US, featured two No. 1 singles (“New Kid In Town” and “Hotel California”), and won two GRAMMY Awards. Today, Hotel California has been certified 26x platinum by the RIAA and is the third best-selling US album in history and one of the best-selling albums of all time.

In related news, Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab (MoFi) is launching an unprecedented series that will present all six of the Eagles’ iconic ‘70s studio albums on the imprint’s UltraDisc One-Step format, the best-sounding vinyl LPs in the world, as well as SACD. Mobile Fidelity’s ultra-hi-fi UltraDisc One-Step 180-g 45RPM 2 LP collector’s edition pays tribute to the significance of both albums and enhances the experience for generations to come.

2 LP

LP 1:

A1. Take It Easy
A2. Take It To The Limit
A3. New Kid In Town
B1. James Dean
B2. Good Day In Hell
B3. Witchy Woman
B4. Funk #49

LP 2:

A1. One Of These Nights
A2. Hotel California
A3. Already Gone
B. Etching

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com
Articles: 11865