Ryan Adams promoting ‘Prisoner’ album with intimate shows

Just as the songs on his anxiously awaited new album Prisoner, due Friday, February 17th on PAX AM/Blue Note, gave him no choice but to be their vessel, Ryan Adams will not be deterred from making you his Valentine this week.

Having just appeared on Monday’s episode of WTF with Marc Maron, Adams’ full frontal assault on your heart will escalate with with an NPR First Listen preview in full the album that New York Magazine hailed as “the best thing he’s put out in a decade,” Rolling Stone called “close to the magnum opus of his dreams” and Stereogum just cautioned “you might find yourself unable to stop listening to.”

Thursday, February 16th, Adams will return to the Apollo Theater. His first appearance at the iconic Harlem venue in nearly ten years, Adam and his band’s show sold out instantly, but don’t be heartbroken, Adams will be there on your TV screen the very next night, asking if you still love him February 17th on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.

And if you’re not busy Saturday, February 18th and somehow managed to score a ticket to possibly the most intimate engagement he has played in the NYC area since people have cared, Ryan Adams will be playing a sold out electric set and recently announced 6 pm acoustic set at Rough Trade Records in Brooklyn (Acoustic show sales begin February 17th with Prisoner purchases at the store; one wristband per album, two wristbands maximum–names will be on wristbands).

Adams will then re-direct his affections to the west coast for two more in-store appearances–February 20th at Fingerprints in Long Beach, CA (sold out) and February 22nd at Amoeba Records in Los Angeles (admission requires album purchase in store at Hollywood Amoeba Music starting February 17th, before appearing on The Late Late Show with James Corden on February 23th.


1. Do You Still Love Me?
2. Prisoner
3. Doomsday
4. Haunted House
5. Shiver And Shake
6. To Be Without You
7. Anything I Say To You Now
8. Breakdown
9. Outbound Train
10. Broken Anyway
11. Tightrope
12. We Disappear

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com