Salt-N-Pepa commemorates ‘Very Necessary’ with 30th anniversary edition

The new double edition will be available this fall

Grammy Award-winning trailblazing hip-hop group Salt-N-Pepa will celebrate three decades of their classic fourth full-length album, Very Necessary, with the release of Very Necessary (30th Anniversary Edition), out October 20th via UMe. Various configurations include a limited edition deluxe double LP and 2 CD deluxe as well a digital deluxe version. This stands out as the first time the album will be pressed on 2 LP black vinyl and 2 CD deluxe. Plus, the 2 CD deluxe will also feature liner notes on the making of their massive hit, “Shoop.”

With audio remastered in HD, the limited edition deluxe double LP features four bonus tracks on blue vinyl, including “Emphatically No,” a remix of “Shoop,” and two fresh remixes of “Whatta Man.” In addition to the latter, the 2 CD deluxe and digital deluxe edition boasts a total of 13 bonus tracks. These range from the new original “Let’s Talk About AIDS” and “I Am The Body Beautiful” to various alternate mixes, acapella, and instrumental tracks. Not to mention, this marks the first time all of the bonus tracks, with the exception of “I Am the Body Beautiful,” will be available on DSPs.

Very Necessary initially arrived on October 12, 1993. It climbed to the Top 5 of the Billboard 200 and eventually moved over five million copies in the U.S., going quintuple-platinum. “Shoop” popped off as the group’s first Top 5 entry on the Hot 100, and “Whatta Man” cracked the Top 3. “None of Your Business” notched a Grammy Award—the group’s first—in the category of Best Rap Performance by a Duo or Group.

Stay tuned for more news and announcements coming soon.

CD 1:

  1. Groove Me
  2. No One Does It Better
  3. Somebody’s Gettin’ On My Nerves
  4. Whatta Man
  5. None Of Your Business
  6. Step
  7. Shoop
  8. Heaven Or Hell
  9. Big Shot
  10. Sexy Noises Turn Me On
  11. Somma Time Man
  12. Break Of Dawn
  13. I’ve Got AIDS (PSA)

CD 2: Bonus Tracks

  1. Emphatically No
  2. Whatta Man (Video Remix)
  3. Whatta Man (Golden Girls Mix)
  4. Whatta Man (12” Danny D Mix)
  5. None Of Your Business (Perfecto Mix)
  6. Shoop (Danny D’s R’N’B Mix)
  7. Shoop (Guru’s Mix)
  8. Shoop (Acapella)
  9. Shoop (Instrumental)
  10. Shoop (Ben Liebrand European Mix)
  11. Heaven ‘N’ Hell (Carron Hall Mix)
  12. Let’s Talk About AIDS
  13. I Am The Body Beautiful

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: