Shawn Mendes releases ‘Heartbeat’ from ‘Lyle, Lyle, Crocodile’

Original Motion Picture Soundtrack due Oct 7th

Shawn Mendes has debuted his new song “Heartbeat” via Island Records. The track was written by Mendes, Jon Bellion, Amy Allen, Scott Harris, Jason “Tenroc” Cornet, Clyde Lawrence and Jordan Cohen and produced by Mendes, Jon Bellion, TenRoc, and The Diner. The song will appear in the end title of Sony Pictures’ upcoming live-action/CGI musical comedy, Lyle, Lyle, Crocodile, out in theaters on October 7th.

Alongside the song, it was also announced the original motion picture soundtrack will be released on October 7th. The track listing for the film was revealed last week, featuring Mendes, Stevie Wonder and Elton John along side co-stars Constance Wu, Javier Bardem, and Anthony Ramos.. The soundtrack was written by Oscar winning duo, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul.

  1. Top of the World (Shawn Mendes)
  2. I Like it Like That (Pete Rodriguez)
  3. Take a Look at Us Now (Javier Barden & Shawn Mendes)
  4. Heartbeat (Shawn Mendes)
  5. Bye Bye Bye (Claire Rosinkranz)
  6. Sir Duke (Stevie Wonder)
  7. Rip Up the Recipe (Shawn Mendes & Constance Wu)
  8. We Made It (Anthony Ramos)
  9. Steppin’ Out (The Gap Band)
  10. Take a Look at Us Now – Reprise (Javier Barden & Shawn Mendes)
  11. Express Yourself (Charles Wright & The Watts 103rd St. Rhythm Band)
  12. Take a Look at Us Now – Lyle Reprise (Shawn Mendes)
  13. Carried Away (Shawn Mendes)
  14. Take a Look at Us Now – Finale (Shawn Mendes, Winslow Fegley, Lyle, Lyle Crocodile Ensemble)
  15. Crocodile Rock (Elton John)

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: