The Tragically Hip named 2024 Record Store Day Canada Ambassadors

The band’s 1993 recording at CBGB’s will be available for the first time on vinyl on April 20th

The Tragically Hip has been named the Record Store Day Canada 2024 Canadian Ambassadors, releasing an exclusive standalone live album, Live at CBGB’s, on Record Store Day. The global celebration of the culture of independent record stores takes place this year on April 20th, as it has annually for the last 17 years. This announcement marks the first of many moments this year for The Tragically Hip as they celebrate 40 years as a band.

Live At CBGB’s features nine live songs that were originally recorded on January 14, 1993, from the legendary New York venue CBGB’s as The Tragically Hip launched their third studio album, Fully Completely, in America with a private event from the intimate space. The band performed the record in full, omitting a few tracks that didn’t fit the bill. This concert recording will be available on April 20th for the first time as a 12-inch pink vinyl and limited run of cassettes at participating record stores in Canada and the US.

“Record Store Day Canada is overjoyed that legendary Canadian band, The Tragically Hip, will be the Record Store Day Canada 2024 Canadian Ambassadors,” says Ryan Kerr from Record Store Day Canada. “There are few bands that represent Canadiana; our traditions, values and pastimes the way The Tragically Hip does. The band is woven into the fabric of our culture and the annals of our beloved rock radio with innumerable hits. Fans continue to honor the legacy of The Tragically Hip, who brought a genuine and unique passion to their music. RSDC is looking forward to contributing to the band’s ongoing legacy by releasing Live at CBGB’s for Record Store Day 2024. Pressed for the very first time, it will be a great addition to collections of The Tragically Hip fans nationwide.”

Established in 1984, this year marks 40 Years of The Tragically Hip – a milestone for the beloved band. 2024 sees The Tragically Hip break open the archives; reminiscing with fans on four decades of music, friendship and philanthropy. The band’s legacy will be honored with a yearlong celebration, starting with the designation of the Record Store Day Canada Ambassadors, then a deluxe package of their breakthrough album, Up To Here, the latest installment of a series of special deluxe packages released over the last few years – Road Apples 30th Anniversary Deluxe Boxset in 2021, Fully Completely Vinyl Release in 2022, Phantom Power 25th Anniversary Deluxe Boxset in 2023, plus, a four-part Amazon documentary, and much more.

1. Fully Completely
2. Looking For A Place To Happen
3. Courage (For Hugh MacLennan)
4. Fifty-Mission Cap
5. Pigeon Camera
6. We’ll Go Too
7. At The Hundredth Meridian
8. Locked In The Trunk Of A Car
9. The Wherewithal

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: