Verve/UMe reveal ‘Acoustic Sounds’ 2022 slate of high-end vinyl releases

LPs remastered from original analog tapes are presented on 180-gram vinyl

Since launching in 2020, Verve/UMe’s all-analog vinyl reissue series, Acoustic Sounds, has provided definitive, best-in-class audiophile grade pressings of some of the most important and beloved jazz records of all time, each mastered from the original tapes and produced with the utmost care. The nearly two dozen releases to date feature many of the timeless, classic albums from the Verve Label Group’s stable of labels including Decca, EmArcy, Impulse! Records, Philips Records and Verve, and thus far have included Bill Evans’ Trio ‘64, Clifford Brown and Max Roach’s A Study In Brown, Gil Evans Orchestra’s Out of the Cool, John Coltrane’s A Love Supreme and Ballads, Louis Armstrong and Oscar Peterson’s Louis Armstrong Meets Oscar Peterson, Nina Simone’s I Put a Spell on You and Pastel Blues, Oliver Nelson’s Blues And The Abstract Truth, Peggy Lee’s Black Coffee and Sarah Vaughan’s Sarah Vaughan, and Stan Getz and João Gilberto’s Getz/Gilberto.

In 2021, the Acoustic Sounds series yearlong spotlight was on Impulse! Records as they celebrated their 60th anniversary. In 2022, the series continues to have a strong focus on Impulse! but will also feature several important albums released by Verve between 1956-65. The third year of the highly popular series kicked off in January with two albums by John Coltrane, the legendary Live At The Village Vanguard (1962) and the epic, meditative Crescent (1964). It was followed by Coltrane’s sublime collaboration with Duke Ellington on their joint LP, Duke Ellington & John Coltrane (1963), and the latest release in the series, Coltrane’s landmark album with vocalist Johnny Hartman, John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman, released on April 29th.

Throughout the year, the Acoustic Sounds series will feature one new release monthly from Verve’s vaunted catalog. May 13th will see the release of Duke Ellington’s impeccable pairing with saxophone great Coleman Hawkins on the aptly titled Duke Ellington Meets Coleman Hawkins (1963), followed by Bill Evans’ excellent Trio 65 (1965) on June 17th, with his elegant live album with his trio, Bill Evans At Town Hall, Volume 1 to come a few months later on September 9th. Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong’s immortal duets albums will follow with Ella & Louis (1956) on July 15th and Ella & Louis Again (1957) on September 16th. Oscar Peterson’s final Verve effort, We Get Requests (1964), featuring inspired interpretations of some of the era’s popular songs, will come on August 19th. Roy Haynes’ adventurous Out Of The Afternoon (1962) will drop October 14th with Pharoah Sanders’ spiritual jazz masterpiece, Karma (1969), hitting on November 11th. The ’22 series will conclude December 2nd with Oscar Peterson’s Night Train (1963), featuring his anthemic “Hymn To Freedom,” celebrating the 60th anniversary of its recording in December of 1962.

As with all Acoustic Sounds titles, the LPs will be mastered in stereo from the original analog tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound. All albums will be pressed on 180-gram vinyl and packaged in high-quality tip-on gatefold jackets, replicating the original packaging. All releases, as always, are supervised by Chad Kassem, CEO of Acoustic Sounds, the world’s largest source for audiophile recordings, and will utilize the unsurpassed production craft of Quality Record Pressings.

May 13th

  • Duke Ellington & Coleman Hawkins – Duke Ellington Meets Coleman Hawkins (Impulse!, 1963)

June 17th

  • Bill Evans – Trio 65 (Verve, 1965)

July 15th

  • Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong – Ella & Louis (Verve, 1956)

August 19th

  • Oscar Peterson – We Get Requests (Verve, 1964)

September 9th

  • Bill Evans – Bill Evans At Town Hall (Verve, 1966)

September 16th

  • Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong – Ella & Louis Again (Verve, 1957)

October 14th

  • Roy Haynes – Out Of The Afternoon (Impulse!, 1962)

November 11th

  • Pharoah Sanders – Karma (Impulse!, 1969)

December 2nd

  • Oscar Peterson – Night Train (Verve, 1963)

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: