Whitesnake announces ‘The Purple Tour Live’

Whitesnake revisited the music that singer David Coverdale recorded with Deep Purple in the Seventies when they released The Purple Album two years ago. The album, and the tour that followed, offered fans new modern interpretations of Purple classics like “Burn” and “Mistreated.” This November, highlights from the historic tour will be featured in a new live collection, including double-disc versions that feature audio, video and a selection of bonus material. The Purple Tour (Live) will be available on November 24th on CD/DVD, CD/Blu-ray, double LP, single CD and digital via Rhino Records.

On The Purple Tour (Live), Whitesnake puts their distinctive spin on several songs from Coverdale’s studio albums with Deep Purple – Burn (1974), Stormbringer (1974), and Come Taste The Band (1975). Highlights include “You Fool No One,” “The Gypsy” and “Soldier Of Fortune.” The double disc collection also includes video footage of the concert mixed to 5.1 Surround Sound, plus a new music video for “Burn,” band interviews, and a number of bonus performances not available on the CD or vinyl versions.

The Whitesnake line-up that appears on The Purple Tour (Live) includes singer David Coverdale, guitarists Reb Beach and Joel Hoekstra, bassist Michael Devin, drummer Tommy Aldridge and keyboardist Michele Luppi.

Coverdale says there was never any intention to compete against the original recordings. “We just wanted to play the damn songs. Each member of the band. brought their incredible individual talents and a real band identity to this music. We’ve all done the best we can with this project with respect to the music, and the legacy of Deep Purple Mk3 and Mk4.”

In addition to songs originally recorded by Deep Purple, The Purple Tour (Live) also features performances of killer Whitesnake tracks like “Fool For Your Loving” from Slip Of The Tongue (1990), “Love Ain’t No Stranger” from Slide It In (1984), plus “Still Of The Night,” “Bad Boys,” “Is This Love” and the #1 smash “Here I Go Again” from Whitesnake (1987).

CD/Blu-ray | CD/DVD | CD | 2 LP


1. Burn
2. Bad Boys
3. Love Ain’t No Stranger
4. The Gypsy
5. Give Me All Your Love
6. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City
7. Mistreated
8. You Fool No One
9. Soldier of Fortune
10. Is This Love
11. Fool For Your Loving
12. Here I Go Again
13. Still of the Night[/one_half]

[one_half_last]DVD/Blu-ray Contents:

1. Concert Video in 5.1 and Stereo
2. Burn – Music Video
3. Band Interviews

Bonus 5.1 High Resolution Live Audio:

4. You Keep On Moving
5. Lay Down Stay Down
6. Lotsanotes
7. Stormbringer[/one_half_last]

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com