Antonio Sanchez announces collab album feat Trent Reznor, Dave Matthews

Shift (Bad Hombre Vol II) will be released Aug 26th

Four-time Grammy Award-winning drummer Antonio Sánchez has announced the release of his groundbreaking new album, Shift (Bad Hombre Vol. II), arriving via Arts Music, a Division of Warner Music, on Friday, August 26th. The album is heralded by the premiere of the new original song “I Think We’re Past That Now,” featuring 2x Academy Award-winners Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross and available now at all DSPs and streaming services. An official visualizer is streaming now at YouTube, and a video is coming soon.

Shift (Bad Hombre Vol. II) sees Sánchez joining forces with a diverse range of collaborators – which also features Dave Matthews & Pat Metheny, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Meshell Ndegeocello, Kimbra, Lila Downs, Ana Tijoux, Becca Stevens, Silvana Estrada, MARO, Thana Alexa – for an enthralling, eclectic journey uniting musical voices and perspectives from around the world.

This project first began with the internationally acclaimed Mexico City-born musician approaching some of his favorite artists for songs he could deconstruct and reimagine via his “Bad Hombre” alter-ego. An exception is “I Think We’re Past That Now,” which is a new original co-written by Reznor, Ross, and Sanchez with lyrics by Reznor. The pandemic made remote collaborations easier to facilitate and also afforded Sánchez additional time to explore ideas and expand his role as a producer and performer. With his “Bad Hombre” persona playing virtually all instruments (including guitar, bass, mandolin, oud, and more), Sánchez infused his compositional, production, and percussion talents to “shift” the songs while leaving their essence intact. While 2017’s premiere Bad Hombre project marked perhaps the most overtly political work of Sánchez’s award-winning career, SHIFT (Bad Hombre Vol. II) places its focus on breaking through creative walls to conquer new sonic territory.

“My anger transformed,” Sánchez says. “And the fact this material did not originate with me changed the equation. It helped me to bring a fresh perspective and a sense of wonder to ‘What else can this be?’ And as a result of pandemic-related delays, I keep joking about my having been pregnant for a couple of years…and now there is a really epic baby.”

  1. Opening feat. Ignacio López Tarso
  2. Eh Hee 2.0 feat. Dave Matthews & Pat Metheny
  3. Mi Palabra feat. Ana Tijoux
  4. The Bucket feat. Becca Stevens
  5. I Think We’re Past That Now feat. Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross
  6. Alambari feat. MARO
  7. Doyenne feat. SONICA
  8. Risa de Mujer feat. Lila Downs
  9. Trapped (Red Room) feat. Thana Alexa
  10. Comet, Come to Me feat. Meshell Ndegeocello
  11. Waiting feat. Antonio Sánchez
  12. Risa de Mujer (Interlude) feat. Lila Downs
  13. El Agua y la Miel feat. Silvana Estrada
  14. Suspended Animation feat. Kimbra
  15. M-Power feat. Rodrigo y Gabriela
  16. Closing feat. Ignacio López Tarso

Default image
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:

Articles: 13181