Aretha Franklin ‘The Atlantic Singles 1967-1970’ detailed

Atlantic and Rhino Records have set a new Aretha Franklin collection that spotlights a massive three year period in her career. The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967-1970 will be available as 2 CD and 2 LP sets on September 28th. The collection will also be available for digital download and via streaming services.

The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967-1970 features 34 singles which Franklin released during her first three years with Atlantic Records. The track listing for the vinyl version has been shortened to fit the LP format.

Arranged chronologically, the songs on the new collection originally appeared on six studio albums: I Never Loved A Man The Way I Love You (1967), Aretha Arrives (1967), Lady Soul (1968), Aretha Now (1968), Soul ’69 (1969), This Girl’s In Love With You (1970), and Spirits In The Dark (1970). The only exception is Franklin’s cover of Elton John’s “Border Song,” which was released as a single in 1970 and later appeared on her 1972 album Young, Gifted and Black.

The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967-1970 is stacked with many of Franklin’s best-known songs, including the nine #1 R&B hits “I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You),” “Respect” (also a Pop #1), “Baby I Love You,” “Chain Of Fools,” “(Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You’ve Been Gone,” “Think,” “Share Your Love With Me,” “Call Me” and “Don’t Play That Song.”

Several of the songs on this collection are cover versions that underscore Franklin’s exceptional skill at reinterpreting music and making songs her own. Among the highlights are her versions of Sam Cooke’s “You Send Me,” The Band’s “The Weight,” The Beatles’ “Eleanor Rigby,” and Dionne Warwick’s “I Say A Little Prayer,” which became a Billboard Top 10 hit for Franklin in 1968.

2 CD | 2 LP

CD 1:

1. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)
2. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man
3. Respect
4. Dr. Feelgood
5. Baby I Love You
6. Going Down Slow
7. A Natural Woman (You Make Me Feel Like)
8. Baby, Baby, Baby
9. Chain Of Fools
10. Prove It
11. (Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You’ve Been Gone
12. Ain’t No Way
13. Think
14. You Send Me
15. The House That Jack Built
16. I Say A Little Prayer
17. See Saw
18. My Song

CD 2:

1. The Weight
2. Tracks Of My Tears
3. I Can’t See Myself Leaving You
4. Gentle On My Mind
5. Share Your Love With Me
6. Pledging My Love / The Clock
7. Eleanor Rigby
8. It Ain’t Fair
9. Call Me
10. Son Of A Preacher Man
11. Spirit In The Dark – With The Dixie Flyers
12. he Thrill Is Gone – With The Dixie Flyers
13. Don’t Play That Song – With The Dixie Flyers
14. Let It Be – With The Dixie Flyers
15. Border Song (Holy Moses)
16. You And Me – With The Dixie Flyers

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.