AXS TV pays tribute to Allman Bros Band’s Butch Trucks

The drummer died on January 24th

AXS TV pays tribute to the legendary career of acclaimed drummer and founding member of the Allman Brothers Band Butch Trucks with the broadcast of the concert special All My Friends: Celebrating The Songs & Voice of Gregg Allman. Trucks’ southern-rock style of drumming is featured throughout the special which airs January 26th at 2 am ET/11 pm PT; Saturday, January 28th at 10 pm ET and Sunday, January 29th at 8 am ET/5 am PT. Claude Hudson “Butch” Trucks passed away January 24th at the age of 69.

All My Friends brought together music stars and friends of the band for a once-in-a-lifetime collaboration paying tribute to The Allman Brothers Band’s music. The star-studded, three-hour concert included performances by Trace Adkins, Zac Brown, Jackson Browne, Eric Church, Vince Gil, Brantley Gilbert, Warren Haynes, and Martina McBride, among others, along with Trucks’ nephew Derek Trucks of the Tedeschi Trucks Band and nephew Duane Trucks drumming with his band Widespread Panic.

“Butch Trucks, a founding member of the Allman Brothers Band, tragically died the night of January 24 in West Palm Beach, Florida,” the band says in a statement. “His wife, four children, four grandchildren and all of the Allman Brothers Band, their families and Road Crew survive Butch. The Trucks and Allman Brothers Band families request all of Butch’s friends and fans to please respect our privacy at this time of sadness for our loss. Butch will play on in our hearts forever.”

Donations and remembrances in Butch’s name may be made to The Big House Museum in Macon, Georgia.

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.

Comments

comments