Jon Pardi surprise drops covers EP

EP is available digitally

One of country’s neo-traditionalists Jon Pardi has surprised dropped Rancho Fiesta Sessions, an eight song covers EP, via Capitol Nashville. Pardi covers Merle Haggard, Dwight Yoakam, George Strait, Joe Diffie, Keith Whitley, Tom Petty and Prince. Produced by Pardi, the project was recorded live during a one-night live jam session with his touring band from his home base in Nashville.

“Surprise! I recently recorded eight classic songs from a bunch of my musical heroes,” Pardi shares on social media. “We recorded everything on my ranch out in my shop. Had an awesome time putting this all together and hope y’all love it. The Rancho Fiesta Sessions is here!!!”

“It’s all my band on this whole album. We mainly did it to have fun and record, and it sounds like we’re in your backyard, playing for you.” Adding also, “I hope the fans really have fun when they listen to it, and they enjoy it and turn it up. This one was for the fans, to let them hear something different… songs you may have heard before but, haven’t heard them like this. It turned into something special because it’s a year where we are off the road, and we recorded it live in real time, out at my house.”

Of the album, Pardi also explains, “I nicknamed my place out here Rancho Fiesta because it was fun and sounded uplifting. We recorded this at the shop out here and I thought it made sense to reference where the project was recorded.”

The EP follows Heartache Medication, his 2019 release that earned him his fourth No. 1 at country radio with the title track. The album debuted among the top albums on Billboard’s Country Albums chart upon its release.

1. The Bottle Let Me Down
2. Honky Tonk Man
3. Right Or Wrong
4. Marina Del Rey
5. Prop Me Up Beside The Jukebox (If I Die)
6. Somebody’s Doin’ Me Right
7. The Waiting
8. Nothing Compares 2 U

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.
Articles: 11266