Inaugural single & video for “Exorcism” available now

Gifted multi-hyphenate Kat Von D is beginning an electrifying new chapter in her career with the release of her debut single and video for “Exorcism.” It marks the first track from her forthcoming debut album, Love Made Me Do It, due August 27th. Pre-orders include limited edition signed red vinyl, red cassettes, CD digipack, hoodies with Kat’s signature star face tattoos on the hood, custom sketchbooks and much more. Other limited edition color vinyl variants are also available for retail.

Both a sonic and songwriting leap for Von D, “Exorcism” takes the listener on a reflective journey through the cycles of love and loss, rebirths and passings, the feelings of vulnerability and hardships a woman faces as she makes her way through challenges in her life. A cinematic and symphonic slow burn, the emotional track evokes wonder, tranquility, joy, pain, and ultimately, hope.

“I wrote ‘Exorcism’ after having had binged on every exorcist movie that ever existed,” she shares. “I loved the idea of tying the act of being possessed by something outside your control to what love can sometimes feel like; losing yourself in someone else, and sometimes it leaving you black and blue.”

Love Made Me Do It sits at the core of Von D’s universe, proving that music is her first and strongest passion. Having been a classically trained pianist since her youth with a deep appreciation for music of all genres, she’s poured her soul into this long-awaited full-length debut album. The project features collaborators including Dave Grohl, Linda Perry, Dave Sitek (TV On The Radio), Peter Murphy (Bauhaus), Danny Lohner (Nine Inch Nails), Ladyhawke and Charo.

“Love Made Me Do It is a collection of all my hopeless romantic thoughts poured into one album,” Von D shares of the album.

Long before the history-making tattoos, ubiquitous television shows, best-selling books and an influential beauty empire, Kat Von D sat down at a piano for nearly two hours a day and played. In essence, music became her first creative language and most trusted outlet. Classical training and a deep appreciation for music of all genres essentially underscored her life. She studied voice under Ken Tamplin six days per week, strengthening her vocals. In 2012, she began writing with GRAMMY Award-nominated Linda Perry. Following this experience, Von D continued to write on her own, sitting at the piano and summoning songs from raw emotion. During 2014, she retreated to London to record the original mix of what would become her full-length debut album Love Made Me Do It (KVD/Kartel Music Group) before cementing it with her band – Gregg Foreman aka Mr. Pharmacist (synth 1/Cat Power, The Gossip), Sammi Doll (synth 2/IAMX), Dave Parley (drums/Prayers), and Brynn Route (contortionist). They moved into a bungalow cottage on her property, lived together, and finished the record. Capping off the process, Dan Haigh of Gunship handled mixing. A pastiche of shapeshifting analog synths, post-punk dreamscapes, gothic hues, and shy pop magnetism, these eleven songs echo the eternal will of the perennially brokenhearted to love until death.


  1. Vanish Intro
  2. Vanish
  3. Enough
  4. Exorcism
  5. Protected
  6. Fear You
  7. I Am Nothing
  8. Lost At Sea
  9. Interlude
  10. Pretending
  11. Easier Sung Than Said
  12. The Calling