Previously unreleased John Entwistle recordings getting ‘Oxhumed’

Set features studio tracks, demos and live recordings

John ‍Entwistle is best known as the legendary bassist ‍for the Who. Nicknamed the Ox and Thunderfingers, Entwistle’s music career spanned over four decades and he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame as a member of the Who in 1990. Renowned for his musical abilities, he was voted as the greatest bassist ‍of all time in a 2011 Rolling Stone magazine readers’ poll and in its special “100 Greatest Bass Players” issue in 2017. Bass Player magazine named Entwistle at number seven.

Rarities Oxhumed – Volume One is the first in a series of posthumous releases coming from John Entwistle as part of a new partnership with Deko Entertainment and longtime friend and collaborator Steve Luongo. This first one has unreleased and remastered studio tracks, demos, and live tracks with gems like “Bogey Man” featuring Keith Moon, “Where You Going Now” (demo for the Who), and a raw live version of “Trick of the Light” recorded during the John Entwistle Band’s final tour in 2001. We will also take you behind the scenes with an expanded booklet with never-before-seen photos and a look into life on the road with John Entwistle.

“John and I began touring together in 1987,” Steve Luongo says. “Every tour was more fun than the last. That was the idea. Play loud aggressive rock & roll, have fun, laugh our asses off, travel to the next gig, and repeat. During the 15 years that we worked together as a rhythm section, we remained true to that cause. Along the way we recorded some records and created a sizable catalog of ideas and material for the future. The future is now.”

The album cover concept was conceived by Steve Luongo and John’s son Chris Entwistle. It gives a nod to John’s dark sense of humor and includes many of John’s favorite things. The two also worked with celebrity designer Queenie (Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus, Cardi B) to create two commemorative pieces of jewelry based on the Entwistle Crest. These are limited to only 300 each of both a necklace and keychain.

The first preview of what’s to come is the remastered release of “I’ll Try Again Today.”

Pick up Rarities Oxhumed – Volume One and special limited bundles which include the album on CD, a 12 page expanded booklet with exclusive photos, recording info and. unreleased photos, as well as one Entwistle Crest necklace or keychain.


  1. Bogey Man
  2. Darker Side Of Night
  3. I’ll Try Again Today
  4. When You See the Light
  5. Back on the Road
  6. Left for Dead (Alternate Version)
  7. I Wouldn’t Sleep With You
  8. Don’t Be a Sucker
  9. Life Goes On (Demo)
  10. Where Ya Going Now (Demo)
  11. Trick of the Light (Live)
  12. Under a Raging Moon (Live)
  13. Shakin’ All Over (Live)

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: