Taylor Swift announces ‘The Tortured Poets Department’

The new project drops this spring

Taylor Swift will release her 11th studio album entitled The Tortured Poets Department on April 19th via Interscope Records. The global pop star shared the news during her acceptance speech for her 13th Grammy Award on Sunday (Feb 4th) which she collected for Midnights being crowned Best Pop Vocal Album.

“I want to say thank you to the fans by telling you a secret that I have been keeping from you for the last two years, which is that my brand new album comes out April 19th. It’s called The Tortured Poets Department. I’m going to go and post the cover right now backstage,” she shared from the stage.

True to her word, Swift posted the cover art on her socials along with a handwritten note.

“And so I enter into evidence / My tarnished coat of arms / My muses, acquired like bruises / My talismans and charms / The tick, tick, tick of love bombs / My veins of pitch black ink / All’s fair in love and poetry… Sincerely, The Chairman of The Tortured Poets Department,” the note reads.

The 16-track album will be available in several configurations, including CD, vinyl, and cassette with the bonus track “The Manuscript.” Each version is available via her website for a limited time.

Swifties thought she’d be announcing a re-recorded version of Reputation after changing her profile picture earlier in the day.

She’ll resume her Eras Tour in Japan on February 7th before heading Down Under to Australia and New Zealand. The billion-dollar-grossing trek will return to North America this fall.

  1. Fortnight featuring Post Malone
  2. The Tortured Poets Department
  3. My Boy Only Breaks His Favorite Toys
  4. Down Bad
  5. So Long, London
  6. But Daddy I Love Him
  7. Fresh Out the Slammer
  8. Florida!!! featuring Florence + the Machine
  9. Guilty as Sin?
  10. Who’s Afraid of Little Old Me?
  11. I Can Fix Him (No Really I Can)
  12. loml
  13. I Can Do It With a Broken Heart
  14. The Smallest Man Who Ever Lived
  15. The Alchemy
  16. Clara Bow
  17. The Manuscript [Bonus Track]

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com