Whitesnake announces new ‘Greatest Hits’ record

The set will be available on multiple formats

Whitesnake continues to revisit its multi-platinum career as it remixes some of its biggest hits for a new collection that spotlights updated versions of classic tracks like “Still Of The Night,” “Here I Go Again,” and “Is This Love.” Whitesnake Greatest Hits: Revisited, Remixed, Remastered MMXXII is now available digitally with CD and 2 LP 180-gram black vinyl editions due June 17th. The set will also be available as a CD/Blu-ray combo on July 17th.

Whitesnake founder and lead singer David Coverdale had 16 tracks remixed and remastered for this collection.

“We’ve definitely expanded on the original Greatest Hits, took them all out of the sonic time capsule of the ’80s and ’90s, and brought them up to date, sound-wise … as always, we have the original albums for those who consider them holy relics,” Coverdale shares.

Keyboardist Derek Sherinian, who also appeared on Whitesnake’s recent Red, White and Blues trilogy, adds Hammond organ to more than half the songs on the collection. His scorching contributions can be heard on the No. 1 smash “Here I Go Again,” “Fool For Your Loving,” “You’re Gonna Break My Heart Again,” and more. New performances by former Whitesnake guitarist Adrian Vandenberg can also be heard on “The Deeper The Love” and “Judgement Day” from the 1989 album, Slip of the Tongue.

Along with those new additions, Coverdale also went back to the vault to unearth vintage performances by guitarist John Sykes that didn’t appear on the original recordings, including a solo on “Slide It In” and rhythm guitar on “Give Me All Your Love.”

Whitesnake Greatest Hits: Revisited, Remixed, Remastered MMXXII focuses extensively on three blockbuster albums the band released during the 1980s: 1984’s Slide It In (2x Platinum), 1987’s Whitesnake (8x Platinum), and 1989’s Slip of the Tongue (Platinum). But the collection goes deeper with songs like “Sweet Lady Luck,” a b-side on the 12” single for “The Deeper The Love,” and “Forevermore,” the title track from the band’s 2011 album.

Whitesnake will embark upon a farewell tour in May with special guest Europe. The first leg of Whitesnake: The Farewell Tour will start on May 10th in Dublin and end in Milan on June 28th.

“I pray every day we can all make this happen and once again, share unforgettable evenings together and celebrate the amazing journey we have been on for almost 50 years!!!” Coverdale says of the trek.

CD/Blu-ray | CD | 2 LP

  1. Still Of The Night
  2. Here I Go Again
  3. Is This Love
  4. Give Me All Your Love
  5. Love Ain’t No Stranger
  6. Slide It In
  7. Slow An’ Easy
  8. Guilty Of Love
  9. Fool For Your Loving
  10. Judgment Day
  11. The Deeper The Love
  12. Now You’re Gone
  13. You’re Gonna Break My Heart Again
  14. Sweet Lady Luck
  15. Crying In The Rain
  16. Forevermore

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com

Articles: 15671