Elton John unveils new song from ‘Rocketman’ film

“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” was written especially for the film

BBC Radio 2 has premiered “(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again,” a brand-new song written especially for the upcoming Rocketman film by Elton John and Bernie Taupin. The song is performed by John and Rocketman lead actor Taron Egerton and will appear on the eagerly anticipated album Rocketman: Music From The Motion Picture, available May 24th on Interscope Records.

Rocketman sees celebrated producer and composer Giles Martin re-interpreting and re-imagining John’s iconic hits, tailoring the music specifically to support the narrative of the upcoming major motion picture. “(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” is co-produced by Giles Martin and Greg Kurstin. The soundtrack also features Egerton’s interpretation of “Rocket Man” and other John classics.

A gloriously up-tempo, soulful stomper, “(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” plays over the movie’s closing credits. It is another fitting addition to Elton John and Bernie Taupin’s oeuvre, undoubtedly one of the greatest song books of all time. It is also a great showcase for Taron Egerton’s stunning vocals, an integral part of the makeup of Rocketman.

Tasked with taking John’s unparalleled back catalogue and re-imagining it to fit the film’s narrative, Martin worked closely with the filmmakers, supervising all of the music for the production and pulling a vocal masterclass from Egerton in the studio. From transforming “Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting” into an epic ensemble piece, to morphing “I Want Love” into a heartbreaking moment of conflict around little Reggie’s family meal, each track has been sculpted to form a unique part of the narrative of this most incredible of stories. The album is produced by Giles Martin (except “(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” co-produced by Giles Martin and Greg Kurstin) and was recorded between 2017 and 2019 at Abbey Road Studios and AIR Studios in London. Executive Album Producers are Elton John, David Furnish, Matthew Vaughn and Dexter Fletcher.

Paramount Pictures presents, in association with New Republic Pictures, A Marv Films/Rocket Pictures production Rocketman, an epic musical fantasy about the incredible human story of Elton John’s breakthrough years. Released in cinemas on May 22nd, the film follows the fantastical journey of transformation from shy piano prodigy Reginald Dwight into international superstar Elton John. This inspirational story – set to Elton John’s most beloved songs and performed by star Taron Egerton – tells the universally relatable story of how a small-town boy became one of the most iconic figures in pop culture. Rocketman also stars Jamie Bell as Elton’s longtime lyricist and writing partner Bernie Taupin, Richard Madden as Elton’s then manager, John Reid, and Bryce Dallas Howard as Elton’s mother Sheila Farebrother. Rocketman was directed by Dexter Fletcher, written by Lee Hall and produced by Matthew Vaughn, David Furnish, Adam Bohling and David Reid.


1. The Bitch Is Back (Introduction)
2. I Want Love
3. Saturday Night’s Alright (For Fighting)
4. Thank You For All Your Loving
5. Border Song
6. Rock & Roll Madonna – Interlude
7. Your Song
8. Amoreena
9. Crocodile Rock
10. Tiny Dancer
11. Take Me To The Pilot
12. Hercules
13. Don’t Go Breaking My Heart
14. Honky Cat
15. Pinball Wizard – Interlude
16. Rocket Man
17. Bennie and the Jets
18. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down – Interlude
19. Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word
20. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
21. I’m Still Standing
22. (I’m Gonna) Love Me Again

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.