INXS' 'Kick' gets 30th anniversary edition | The Music Universe

INXS’ ‘Kick’ gets 30th anniversary edition

Australian rockers INXS are celebrating the 30th anniversary of Kick on November 24th. Rhino Records is releasing a 3 CD/Blu-ray Audio edition and 2 LP remastered and expanded editions of the set.

Housed in glorious DVD size fan-deluxe packaging, the 30th anniversary edition of Kick extends previous editions with additional B-sides, rare mixes and bonus tracks over 3 CDs. In addition, it will feature the album mixed in Dolby Atmos by producer Giles Martin and Sam Okell at Abbey Road Studios. The new mix appears on a Blu-ray Audio Disc along with all the promo videos. Dolby Atmos is an immersive sound technology that delivers the best listening experience on any device with a new dimension of clarity, fidelity and space.

“You can hear this album like you’ve never-before,” says Giles Martin of the new 30th anniversary edition. “You can hear Michael so close to you, you can hear his breath. You feel like you’re in the studio with the band. You have a record that’s 30 years old, but it’s been taken in a completely new direction and you can listen to it in a completely new way and it becomes new again. Great music and great songs, they don’t get old.”

For vinyl enthusiasts, there will also be a Half-Speed Remaster of the classic 1987 album cut over two heavyweight, 180-gram black vinyl LPs at 45-RPM for supreme fidelity, cut by Abbey Road Studios’ Half-Speed Mastering pioneer, Miles Showell, who says, “Having owned this album since 1987 and even cut the UK 7″ lacquers for ‘Need You Tonight’, I was thrilled to be asked to remaster it as a double 45 half-speed mastered LP.” The vinyl release date is December 15th.

“Classic, fabulous pop songs that jump out of the speakers, now more than ever before!” Andrew Farriss of INXS says of Kick‘s new edition. “The latest INXS vinyl cuts are an outstanding sonic achievement, especially the Kick album. I was truly amazed to hear INXS’ recordings sounding so incredibly fresh, clear and kick-ass, like vinyl on steroids…”

Kick leads off a bevy of INXS reissues as 2017 marks a triumvirate of anniversaries for the legendary Australian rock band. It’s now 40 years since they first formed the band, 30 years since Kick made them global superstars, and 20 years since the untimely passing of their iconic frontman and friend Michael Hutchence.

3 CD/Blu-ray Audio | 2 LP

CD 1: Original Album Remastered

  1. Guns In The Sky
  2. New Sensation
  3. Devil Inside
  4. Need You Tonight
  5. Mediate
  6. The Loved One
  7. Wild Life
  8. Never Tear Us Apart
  9. Mystify
  10. Kick
  11. Calling All Nations
  12. Tiny Daggers

CD 2: Demos, Mixes & More

  1. Move On [Guitar Version]
  2. I’m Coming (Home)
  3. Mediate [Live From America]
  4. Never Tear Us Apart [Live From America]
  5. Kick [Live From America]
  6. On The Rocks
  7. Do Wot You Do
  8. Mystify [Chicago Demo]
  9. Jesus Was A Man [Demo]
  10. The Trap [Demo]
  11. Guns In The Sky [Kick Ass Remix]
  12. Need You Tonight [Mendelsohn Extended Mix]
  13. Move On

CD 3: Additional Mixes & B-Sides

  1. Never Tear Us Apart [Soul Version]
  2. New Sensation [Nick 12” Mix]
  3. New Sensation [Nick 7” Mix]
  4. Devil Inside [Extended Remix]
  5. Devil Inside [7” Version]
  6. Devil Inside [Radio Edit]
  7. Different World [12″ Version]
  8. Different World [7” Version]
  9. Need You Tonight [Big Bump Mix]
  10. Need You Tonight [Ben Liebrand Mix]
  11. Need You Tonight [Mendelsohn 7″ Edit]
  12. Guns in the Sky [Kookaburra Mix]
  13. Calling All Nations [Kids On Bridges Remix]
  14. Shine Like it Does [Live]

Blu-ray Audio

  • Kick Mixed in Dolby Atmos & High Definition Audio
  • Promo Videos:
    • Guns In The Sky
    • New Sensation
    • Devil Inside
    • Need You Tonight
    • Mediate
    • Never Tear Us Apart
    • Mystify
    • Kick [New 2017 promo]

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.