Journey, Pearl Jam among 2017 Rock Hall of Fame nominees

Journey, Pearl Jam, Electric Light Orchestra (ELO), J. Geils Band, Steppenwolf and more are among the 2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominees. The announcement was made this morning (Oct 18th) by Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation CEO Joel Peresman and 2014 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductee Stevie Van Zandt, live on Feedback, SiriusXM’s new morning talk-show on the VOLUME, channel 106.

Other nominees include Bad Brains, Chaka Khan, Chic, Depeche Mode, Jane’s Addiction, Janet Jackson, Joan Baez, Joe Tex, Kraftwerk, MC5, The Cars, The Zombies, Tupak Shakur and Yes.

To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination. The 2017 Nominees had to release their first recording no later than 1991.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, presented by Klipsch Audio, scheduled for April 2017, will be broadcast on HBO, as well as on SiriusXM through Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Radio, channel 310. Launched in 1986, Rock & Roll Hall of Fame first list of inductees included Chuck Berry, Elvis Presley, Fats Domino, James Brown, Jerry Lee Lewis, Ray Charles, the Everly Brothers, and more.

Fans can officially cast their vote for the 2017 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees at Voting commences on October 18th and ends at 11:59 pm EST on December 5th. The top five artists, as selected by the public, will comprise, a ‘fans’ ballot’ that will be tallied along with the other ballots to choose the 2017 Inductees. Voters will need to login in with their Facebook accounts or email. Vote will be limited to one ballot per day.


Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: