Showtime announces ‘Hitsville: The Making of Motown’ documentary

Film celebrating the 60th anniversary of Mowtown Records

Showtime Documentary Films has announced it will premiere the new documentary Hitsville: The Making of Motown from directors Benjamin and Gabe Turner (Class of 92, I Am Bolt, One Direction: This Is Us) on Saturday, August 24th at 9 pm ET/PT. The remarkable story of the legendary Motown Records is told through new and exclusive interviews with the label’s visionary founder, Berry Gordy, and many of its superstar artists and creative figures, as well as rare performances and behind-the-scenes footage unearthed from Motown’s vaults and Gordy’s personal archives. Hitsville: The Making of Motown is the first documentary about the iconic label with Gordy’s participation.

Hitsville: The Making of Motown focuses on the period beginning with the birth of the company in Detroit in 1958 until its relocation to Los Angeles in the early 1970’s. The film tracks the unique system that Gordy assembled that enabled Motown to become the most successful record label of all time. The creation and initial success of Motown was achieved during a period of significant racial tensions in America and amid the burgeoning civil rights movement. The company’s music and post-racial vision were significant factors in helping the country – and the world – evolve through this transformative period in history.

“Motown is critical not only to the history of music in America, but also the history of America itself,” states Vinnie Malhotra, Executive Vice President, Nonfiction Programming, Showtime Networks Inc. “And you’ve never seen this bedrock of the music industry explored and remembered the way that Gabe and Ben Turner do it in Hitsville, with never-before-seen clips and interviews with the key players.”

Hitsville: The Making of Motown was produced for Showtime by executive producers Berry Gordy, Steve Barnett, Marty Bandier, David Blackman, Ethiopia Habtemariam and Michelle Jubelirer.

Motown Records is releasing an original motion picture soundtrack from the film, also titled Hitsville: The Making of Motown. The accompanying soundtrack album features the music of the Supremes, Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson and the Miracles, Marvin Gaye, the Temptations, Martha Reeves & the Vandellas and the Jackson 5, among others. The Deluxe 2 CD 35 track original motion picture soundtrack from the Showtime documentary film is available August 16th with a 1 LP 16 track edition available September 27th.

Deluxe 2 CD | 1 LP

CD 1:

  1. Where Did Our Love Go by The Supremes
  2. Fingertips (Pt. 2 / Live At The Regal Theater, 1963) by Stevie Wonder
  3. Shotgun by Jr. Walker And The All Stars
  4. Mickey’s Monkey by The Miracles
  5. Stubborn Kind Of Fellow by Marvin Gaye
  6. Money (That’s What I Want) by Barrett Strong
  7. Please Mr. Postman (Single Version) by The Marvelettes
  8. Ain’t Too Proud To Beg by The Temptations
  9. Dancing In The Street by Martha Reeves & The Vandellas
  10. Uptight (Everything’s Alright) by Stevie Wonder
  11. My Girl by The Temptations
  12. Ain’t No Mountain High Enough by Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell
  13. Do You Love Me by The Contours
  14. I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch) by The Four Tops
  15. Who’s Lovin’ You by Jackson 5
  16. Shop Around by The Miracles

CD 2:

  1. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) by Marvin Gaye
  2. Baby Love by The Supremes
  3. Come See About Me by The Supremes
  4. I Want You Back by Jackson 5
  5. I Heard It Through The Grapevine by Gladys Knight & The Pips
  6. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me) by The Temptations
  7. My Guy by Mary Wells
  8. That’s Going On by Marvin Gaye
  9. This Old Heart Of Mine (Is Weak For You) by The Isley Brothers
  10. For Once In My Life by Stevie Wonder
  11. (Love Is Like A) Heat Wave by Martha Reeves & The Vandellas
  12. The Tracks Of My Tears by Smokey Robinson
  13. What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted by Jimmy Ruffin
  14. I’ll Be There by Jackson 5
  15. I Heard It Through The Grapevine by Marvin Gaye
  16. Baby, I’m For Real by The Originals
  17. Get Ready by The Temptations
  18. The Tears Of A Clown by Smokey Robinson
  19. Reach Out I’ll Be There by The Four Tops

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:

Articles: 14862